Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Community Search

31/07/2018 » 04/08/2018

This section will be used for adverts.
Pharmaceutical Companies can advertise here.
Adverts will be rated and run on monthly basis.
it will be first come first served basis

Available at the PSGH secretariat
  • British National Formulary 
    Book by Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain and British Medical Association
  • The British National Formulary is a pharmaceutical reference book that contains a wide spectrum of information and advice on prescribing and pharmacology, along with specific facts and details about medicines.
  • PSGH CLOTH and other materials
  • Available at the PSGH Secretariat

  • News & Press: SEC/GB

    TBA-led Administration Officially Hands Over

    Friday, 1 September 2017   (0 Comments)
    Posted by: Frank KUMI, Editor
    Share |

    The Standing Executive Committee (SEC) of the PSGH led by the immediate-past President, Pharm. Thomas Boateng Appiagyei (TBA), whose tenure of office came to an end following the election of new leaders last month has officially handed over to the new administration of the PSGH.

    At a handing over meeting held on August 31 at the PSGH secretariat, Pharm. Appiagyei formally presented the handing over report of his administration to the new President, Pharm. Benjamin Kwame Botwe. At the meeting, which was attended by both the old and new administration, Pharm. Appiagyei informed the new management of the Society to read the handing report in conjunction with the 2017 PSGH Governing Report presented to the General Assembly at the recent Annual General Meeting (AGM).

    Pharm. Appiagyei in his report, addressed other matters which required continuity by the new team. Of note, was the need to give continuous attention to welfare issues of the membership, particularly, aged members. He said, in response to frequent complaints of lack of the PSGH’s attention to aged, incapacitated and bereaved members, his administration initiated a plan to build personal ties with such members. In addition to dedicating certain days to visit the sick and elderly members, he ensured that “cash donations from the PSGH Welfare fund were made to all those visited [and provided them] with assurances that they had not been forgotten.”

    The immediate-past administration recommended to the new administration to also pay a keen attention to the Pharmacy Centre Project (PCP). The TBA-led administration was successful in securing an official title to the land the secretariat is currently situated on. According to Pharm. Appiagyei, the initial drawings of the proposed building had to be significantly modified to increase the seating capacity from 1500 to 3500 owing to astonishing rate of membership growth. He said the project, which is estimated to cost around seventy (70) million Ghana Cedis would require more efforts from the new administration in obtaining a suitable mode of financing as the accumulated building fund of three (3) million Ghana Cedis remains significantly inadequate. He also suggested to the new administration to maintain the current membership of the Pharmacy Centre Project Committee, chaired by Pharm. Mrs. Elizabeth Bruce in order to avoid disruptions in implementing such a capital intensive project.

    Pharm. Appiagyei, who decided to run for only single term, assured the new administration of his continued support in any capacity they may deem fit. According to him, as an imminent member of the incoming Governing Board (GB) in accordance with the dictates of the Society’s constitution, he would be ready to provide clarifications on all matters and developments which had occurred under his administration.

    Pharm. Botwe, the new President in accepting the handing over notes, expressed gratitude to the immediate-past SEC on behalf of the new team. He said the solid foundation laid by the TBA-led administration was embodied by the PSGH Strategic Plan document which was launched at the last AGM as well as the various committees established under his tenure. Additionally, he averred his desire to continue on this path by strengthening the gains made under the presidency of TBA, whilst hinting of his readiness to work with his new team to turn the challenges faced by the outgoing team into opportunities.

    The Standing Executive Committee (SEC) which constitutes elected officers of the PSGH and the Executive Secretary is mandated by the constitution of the PSGH among other functions, to “see to the implementation of the policies and decisions of the [Governing] Board.

    Membership of the immediate-past SEC who held the reigns of governance from 2015 to 2017 are as follows:

    Pharm. Thomas Boateng Appiagyei, FPSGH (President);

    Pharm. Kofi Abu, MPSGH (Vice President);

    Pharm. Barbara Owusu, MPSGH (Hon. Treasurer);

    Pharm. Frank Kumi, MPSGH (Editor);

    Pharm. Prof. Dr. Christian Agyare, MPSGH (Executive Member);

    Pharm. Dr. Kwame Ohene Buabeng

    Pharm. Mrs. Gertrude Dorcas-Laryea, MPSGH (Executive Member);

    Pharm. Ernest Owusu Aboagye Esg., MPSGH (Executive Member).

    Pharm. Rev. Dennis Sena Awitty, MPSGH (Executive Secretary)


    The following pharmacists were elected at the recent AGM to comprise the new SEC:


    Pharm. Benjamin Kwame Botwe, MPSGH (President)

    Pharm. Yvonne Yirenkyiwaa Esseku Esq., MPSGH (Vice President)

    Pharm. Esther Appiagyei, MPSGH (Hon. Treasurer)

    Pharm. Prof. Dr. Christian Agyare, MPSGH (Executive Member)

    Pharm. Rev. Dennis Sena Awitty, MPSGH (Executive Secretary)


    The remarkable change in the number of members who make up the SEC could be traced to the newly revised constitution of the PSGH which was adopted by the General Assembly at last year’s AGM.